Coal Black Mornings

Coal Black Mornings Reading Coal Black Mornings Brett Anderson Ls17.eu Brett Anderson Came From A World Impossibly Distant From Rock Star Success, And In Coal Black Mornings He Traces The Journey That Took Him From A Childhood As A Snotty, Sniffy, Slightly Maudlin Sort Of Boy Raised On Salad Cream And Milky Tea And Cheap Meat To Becoming Founder And Lead Singer Of Suede.Anderson Grew Up In Hayward S Heath On The Grubby Fringes Of The Home Counties As A Teenager He Clashed With His Eccentric Taxi Driving Father Who Would Parade Around Their Council House Dressed As Lawrence Of Arabia, Air Conducting His Favourite Composers And Adored His Beautiful, Artistic Mother He Brilliantly Evokes The Seventies, The Suffocating Discomfort Of A Very English Kind Of Poverty And The Burning Need For Escape That It Breeds Anderson Charts The Shabby Romance Of Creativity As He Travelled The Tube In Search Of Inspiration, Fuelled By Marmite And Nicotine, And Suede S Rise From Rehearsals In Bedrooms, Squats And Pubs And He Catalogues The Intense Relationships That Make And Break Bands As Well As The Devastating Loss Of His Mother Coal Black Mornings Is Profoundly Moving, Funny And Intense A Book Which Stands Alongside The Most Emotionally Truthful Of Personal Stories.

  • 4.4
  • 728
  • 02 June 2017
  • Hardcover
  • 224 pages
  • 9781408710500
  • Coal Black Mornings
  • Brett Anderson

10 thoughts on “Coal Black Mornings

  1. Lawrence says:

    There s probably no band that captures the zeitgeist of my the 90s than Suede I still vividly remember seeing the video for Animal Nitrate on late night TV and rushing into the city the next day to buy the debut album on tape That song and video sounded so fresh and new, but also instantly familiar It was sexy and glamorous, but also grim and grimy and evocative of the brown and orange memories of the 1970s and early 80s of my childhood I played Suede on the bus to and from university every day for months and months its two sides filling the length of my commute almost perfectly, to the point where most days I d be stepping off the bus at the Victoria Street bus depot to the fading strains of The Next Life Fast forward 25 years, and I m still a lifer for that band Every album, every single, fanclub magazines, bootlegs, the odd tee shirt.Anderson s book is a wonderful thing It s incredibly evocative, and beautifully written Ending just as Suede signed to Saul Galpern s Nude Records, this isn t a warts n all rock bio about the excesses of life on the road It s a story about Anderson s childhood, growing up poor in the kind of dead end commuter town that populate so many Suede songs Its a story about family, and friendships, and young people bonding over the redemptive power of records There s...

  2. Nigeyb says:

    I saw Brett Anderson discuss Coal Black Mornings at the 2018 Brighton Festival, and it was this which convinced me to read it I m glad I did, it s a wonderful read Coal Black Mornings ends just as Suede get their record deal and finally start gaining their unstoppable momentum however, prior to this, there were years of playing to tiny audiences Coal Black Mornings , which focusses on Brett s early life and the pre fame years, is therefore not the standard rock memoir It s all the better for it too.After describing Brett s impoverished c...

  3. Bert says:

    Oh Brett I do love him I sped through this, and enjoyed how it leaned towards a meditation on fatherhood, and his newly found perspective of his own childhood through that It is a thoughtful, generous book about how poverty, grief and hear...

  4. Andrew says:

    Coal Black Mornings is an essential read for anyone who lived through Britpop in the 90s, and anyone who wants a fresh take on the rock autobiography It s the artfulness of restraint that marks this book out, with Brett s story finishing while Suede were on the cusp of success, stepping away from the gratification of chronicling those glory years Instead, Brett traces a dog legged route from his unconventional childhood in a pebbledash council flat on the outskirts of nowhere, through early formative friendships and his first love, and to the formation of his gang , the nascent Suede It s not a given that talented songwriting will necessarily translate to long prose, but Brett achieves this, lifting and shifting his skill for detailing the squalor, blandness and camaraderie of his Outsiders England, from lyrics for By the Sea , Modern Boys , The Power etc to his e...

  5. Rosemary says:

    When I first heard Brett Anderson was releasing a memoir I m not too ashamed to admit my first thought was Ooh I wonder what he ll have to say about the whole The Tears experience, or Damon Albarn The man is known to be pretty acerbic after all By the time I actually sat down to read the book I was aware that it wasn t going to be that kind of book, but I was still a bit puzzled by how Brett was going to write this book but just end it when Suede became successful.Coal Black Mornings follows a roughly chronological structure, but Anderson uses recounting the events of his past as jumping off point to explore how they made him the person he is today In that way it is a bit different from many memoirs In some ways it reminded me of Robert Webb s excellent How Not To Be a Boy.For fans of Suede and Anderson it probably won t come as a surprise that the book is a little pretentious at times Generally it didn t affect my enjoyment of it I love a bit of purple prose I am a Suede fan after all However, there were a couple of times I found myself rolling my eyes at an unnecessarily obscure word choice or similar In saying that it s a very good book Anderson s tales of his childhood, his family, and later his friends are genuinely touching He draws a vivid picture of his surrounds and just like with his songwr...

  6. Cathy says:

    I knew I would have to read this book in just a few intense shifts A few pages in and I was delighted by Anderson s intelligent, concise and playful storytelling His early years particularly fascinated me before reading this I knew very little and had somehow misunderstood his background, thinking he had been raised by a single father now realising I had his life confused with someone else So I am glad to have a much better understanding of Brett Anderson s childhood years, especially as I can relate to them in many ways the salad cream, fighting parents, making do and than anything being an outsider His youthful years beyond childhood are written about with wit and affection for others His relationships with Justine and Bernard are pivotal and absolutely needed to be written about Here one might wish for much but I am not surprised by the succinct telling given here no too much information or any suggestion of reckless bitterness I don t know why I was surprised to find her name in this book but when I got to page 179 and the Canadian Laura, I had an aha moment my six degrees of separation moment A few years on and I would meet and spend time with Laura ...

  7. Victoria Sadler says:

    I did umm and aah a bit about whether this was a three star review rather than a four star but I flew through this and I was much impressed with its honesty so, you know what, I m in a generous mood Suede were always one of the most underrated British band a group with a unique sound and fluid visual in an era of hyper masculinity and Brit pop groups in fighting And, in this memoir, frontman Brett takes us behind the scenes in a look back upon his life, his younger years, and the early beginnings of Suede to reveal a man born into a very British poverty, to a family flooded with disappointments and dead end lives, much like all of us, who embarked on a path to pop fame What I liked most about this book is that it stops just as Suede sign their record contract, so the focus here is very much on Brett s formative years, before the corruption and oddities of fame took over his life There s his childhood in Hemel Hempstead, his first thoughts on music, and an analysis of the roots of Suede s sound and the fluid sexuality they expressed.O course this being Brett Anderson, I fe...

  8. Reuben says:

    A decade ago, my dad bought me Coming Up on CD for Christmas It was hard for the songs to mean anything to me lyrically at the time, given my age and lack of self awareness, but musically I knew I had found something unforgettable like a Smiths album, stripped of pretense, cut into shape with a sonic ax grinder A little later, when I was old enough to buy a record player, it was one of the first records I bought along with Steve McQueen by Prefab Sprout Heaven or Las Vegas by Cocteau Twins.But why Coal Black Mornings is a fantastic work, lies far in the fact that Brett Anderson is an engaging writer with a fascinating history, than it does in anything to do with Suede and in fact, most of the Suede centred sections in Coal Black Mornings, whilst enjoyable, are swathes less interesting than when Brett is using his childhood to illuminate the highly tense nature of the British class system A similarly crushing experience happened when on a Christmas day trip to London my father s car broke down right outside Harrod s department store in Knightsbridge My mother, my sister and I had to get out and push while my father twisted frantically at the ignition key and pumped a...

  9. James Hartley says:

    A classy, evocative, spare, poetic, vivid autobiography written by Anderson for his son about his own father.It tells of his upbringing in light but touching detail running around a housing estate swinging on lamp posts while high on mushrooms and captures the weird melancholy of growing up in an unhappy but normal family The time, in this case, is the 70s, the place England, but the story is universal.Anderson gets the tone right from the start and plays the whole thing straight To make it work he cuts the jokes and dialogue, largely, but there s a wry tone to the whole thing too a delight in details like Tivvy s and the plastic glasses in the student s union His evocation of the times he grew up or less in the years I did was to my mind spot on and far less forced than most novels and, particularly, TV shows or documentaries H...

  10. Tosh says:

    It is my interest to read memoirs that focus on the early years of its subject matter, due that I wrote a memoir Tosh City Lights Books that does the same thing Brett Anderson is the lyricist songwriter and vocalist for the British band Suede A band that I had mixed feelings for, but since I read this book by Anderson, I re listened to his work with Suede, and now I appreciate their music and stance in British pop music of the 1990s And they are still around, making interesting music Still, I didn t know what Coal Black Mornings will bring to the literary memoir table It s delicious Like a Suede song, Anderson captures the English landscape of poverty and struggling with a family that is partly eccentric especially the dad and the rush of growing up with nothing, yet there is a future if one takes it by the ears and shake it a bit here and there Born in a situation where Anderson felt trapped, it is art both literature and music, which saved his hide This book in a sense is a tribute to being focused on what you want to do, and not to lose sight of that goal or the world you want to obtain The book ends as Suede signs the recording contract with Nude Records, but the build up to that point is a delightful read, from a superb prose writer He does get flowery time to time, but it also serves him personality or character wise, as well My main problem with Suede is not the aesthetics, but that their references to their culture are apparent Saying that, ...

10 comments / Add your comment below

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *